Awards by The Association of Bookmobile & Outreach Services (ABOS)


The Association of Bookmobile & Outreach Services (ABOS), an affiliate of the American Library Association, offers annual awards that recognize outstanding service, support for conference attendance, and the education of a student currently enrolled in a Library Science degree program. In particular, The Bernard Vavrek Scholarship provides $1000 to a library school student interested in outreach and bookmobile services.

Dr. Bernard Vavrek, Professor of Library Science and Chair of the Library Science Department at Clarion University, retired after teaching at Clarion from 1971-2008. He co-founded with John Philip the “Great American Bookmobile Conference,” running it for many years until ABOS was formed and took over management of the conference. This scholarship honors Dr. Vavrek’s profound commitment to librarianship.

The 2017 Conference will be held in Pittsburgh, PA on October 25-27, 2017 at the DoubleTree by Hilton. Please share information about our scholarship, awards and conference with your students and faculty. Information can be found at our website,

The application deadline for this year’s awards is July 31 at 6p.m. EST.

All questions should be directed to :


Jane Morrison
Mobile Library Supervisor
Carmel Clay Public Library
55 4th Ave SE
Carmel, IN 46032