ACRL Presents – “An Introduction to Academic Librarianship”

0

The ACRL Membership Committee invites to entire library community to Join the free webcast, “An Introduction to Academic Librarianship”, which will be presented by Jennie E. Callas.

Jennie E. Callas is the Head of Reference and Instruction at the University of Wisconsin-Parkside Library and the author of “What is Academic Librarianship,” a chapter in The Future Academic Librarian’s Toolkit: Finding Success on the Job Hunt and in Your First Job (ACRL, 2019).

The presentation will be important for the librarians that want to know about what it’s like to be an academic librarian?

Academic libraries are uniquely positioned within higher-education institutions. They serve multiple constituencies across the campus ecosystem, so these librarians contribute to an array of functions. This webcast will provide an overview of academic librarianship, so you can determine whether its nature appeals to you. We’ll discuss various academic library environments (tenure-track versus non-tenure track; community college versus liberal arts school versus research university; etc.) to help you focus the job search. And we’ll identify skills, credentials, and areas of knowledge commonly required of academic librarians, so you can find appropriate educational and experiential opportunities. (ACRL)

The presentation will take on Wednesday, October 30, 2019, from 1:00 — 2:00 p.m. Central time (11:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. Pacific | 12:00 – 1:00 p.m. Mountain | 1:00 – 2:00 p.m. Central | 2:00 – 3:00 p.m. Eastern. Convert additional time zones online.)

To register, interested people must register in https://ala-events.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_AHp0j-UKTHadKGUmFJtEFA.

The webcast will be recorded and posted on the ACRL website after the live event. For any question you may contact to Mary Jane Petrowski at mpetrowski@ala.org.

Share.

Comments are closed.